Entertainment | News | Celebrity Lifestyles | Nigerian Movie Stars | African Celebrities | Afro American Celebrities | Celebrity Hairstyles | Celebrity Marriages | Gossips and Breakups | Movies and Musicals | Breaking News and More | Nigerian Movies | Youtube Yoruba Movies | Naija Music | World Richest Celebrities

Feb 13, 2010

Glitz at The Future Awards 2010 as Warebi, M.I, Aniebo win

It was a brilliant night of glitz and inspiration as some of Nigeria ’s most prominent citizens gathered to celebrate youth who are making the nation proud in sections including science, technology, business, the
media and others at the 2010 edition of the nation’s premier youth event, The Future Awards.
The event held last Sunday evening, at the prestigious Shell Hall of the Muson Centre in Lagos .
With a rousing keynote address by Managing Director of the World Bank, Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, who called the event “grand”, the guests were asked to refocus their efforts on nation building with a strong eye on the youth of the country who, according to Mrs. Okonjo-Iweala, “have, at the event, shown immense potential that gives me hope.”
Guests at the event, held in partnership with HiTV and the Federal Ministry of Information, included a high profile delegation from Lagos State that had the First Lady, Abimbola Fashola; the Deputy Governor, Sarah Bisi Sosan the Secretary to the State Government, Princess Adenrele Adeniran-Ogunsanya, and the Special Adviser to the Governor on Youth, Dr. Dolapo Badru, who represented the Governor.
The night was anchored by a high profile team of young people that included musician Naeto C and former MBGN Munachi Abi,  with surprise take over mid-event by Idols West Africa finalist Omawumi and Big Brother Africa winner Kevin Chuwang.
Performances were a major highlight of the event, with spectacular themes that the audience hanged on to. Even more remarkable was that most performances were by a live band. One was a rehash of songs that defined the nation in a nod to Nigeria ’s fiftieth anniversary by vocalists Waje, Timi Dakolo, Nene and Essence.
The other was themed The Future of Rap and had young hip hop artistes Lil H, Willy Bang, Mo’Cheddah, Scales and Whizkid revving the crowd up. There was a dance fest that had the nation’s reigning dance groups; ‘StreetHood’ and ‘Dance na the main Thing’ slug it out.
Kefee electrified the crowd with her hit song Kokoroko, and a collabo between Djinee and Bez
had the crowd screaming.
The awards also saw interesting takes on pop culture moments that included a recap by Dr. Reuben Abati and musician Banky W of their controversial articles over the state of the Nigerian music industry.
The winners were then announced across categories. The big winner of the night was young Ify Aniebo, a malaria research scientist who won a Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation grant.
She won the award for Best Use of Science and also beat other nominees like award winning journalist Tolu Ogunlesi, musician Asa, music producer Cobhams Asuquo, youth advocate Toyosi Akerele, movie producer and actress Stephanie Okereke to picking up the Young Person of the Year award. Her plaque was handed over by last year’s winner, D’banj.